Lauren’s Guide to helping with Stress

Chapter 1 in a long series of advice pages – I hope!

Back story

Stress is something which has affected me from a youngish age. I was a very hot headed child and would get angry really easily. As I grew up and it came to all my exams, I experienced stress and anxiety for the first time properly (we will leave anxiety for a different day).

I was stressed about getting good grades, being accepted into college and making my parents proud. Being stressed out did not help the fact I was already hot-headed, this just made me snap more at home with my parents leading me to get into a lot of trouble.

Over the summer of 2012 of leaving school, I had a part time job as a waitress in my local pub. Due to stress, I wasn’t eating lots or drinking. I lost a lot of weight that most of my clothes didn’t fit me anymore. Getting into college and seeing my friends again, they were the ones that informed me about my drastic weight loss.

Sleeping was another thing which my stress affected. I was always tired and my sleep pattern had been messed up. I was having nightmares all the time.

As I got older, my stress levels mellowed out and it wasn’t until the last year or so where my stress, anxiety and depression all kicked off at the same time.

Ways I dealt with the stress

Dealing with the stress through school – I didn’t. I really didn’t understand what was happening or how to control it. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more aware of my triggers for stress.

  1. Exercise – This was hard for me due to my weight loss and being more paranoid of losing more weight. Exercise help release a chemical in the brain called endorphins. Endorphins triggers a feel good feeling in the body and this is a way of help relieve the stress. Works for me nowadays. If I’m feeling stressed about anything, I will go for a walk along the beach. The sea air is refreshing, walking helps and the waves make a beautiful noise.
  2. Talking about the problems – If you are able to find the source of what is making you stress, then talk about it with other people. If it is something people are doing to add to the stress, sit them down and explain about it. If you are stressing out more because you can’t talk to anyone about it, I am here to help. Just find me on my social media. I will always listen and give advice.
  3. Sleep – this was a tricky one for me because whatever I did, I couldn’t sleep properly. Things that helped me sleep better was writing everything which was on my mind in a notebook so I didn’t forget it. Drinking Pukka Sleep Tea, this stuff tastes so sweet and smell a bit funky but its helped me a lot. Try not to have naps through the day even though naps are so appealing. This will help on an evening
  4. Baths – Relaxing in a bath before bed helps me with sleeping and baths in general help me relax. Spa music, candles, bath salts and bubbles and just have a little soak. Its just you, block the rest of the world out for 20 minutes and have some you time.

As I say a lot, feel free to message me for advice on any problems you may have. I want to be able to help. People shouldn’t have to go through this alone.

Until next time, Lauren x

Leave a Reply

